Our Lady of the Valley School, originally named Our Lady of the Rosary, opened in September of 1947. Classes were held at St. Margaret's Home for Orphaned Children. The current school building was built in 1951. The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word originally staffed the school, served as principals and continued their service until 1977. Thereafter, several lay principals staffed the school from 1974 to 1991 and from 1994 -1996. From 1991 to 1994 a Franciscan brother served the school as principal. From 1996 to 2012 OLV School continued to be enhanced by the Franciscan Sisters of Our Lady of Perpetual Help who made a unique contribution to the school by reflecting to the students and parish community the charism of St. Francis is Assisi. Currently the school is staffed by lay people and principal who continue to hold OLV's traditions valuable.